Gluten Free Pizza

710991_10151371309534938_765595644_n

Today I baked my first gluten free pizza. I’m using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain pizza crust mix. It sells for $4.19 at Kroger and makes two 12 inch crusts. All you need to add to the crust is 2 eggs, 2 tbsp of olive oil, 1 1/2 cup of water. A yeast pack comes with the crust.

Mix the yeast and water and let them sit while you crack and scramble 2 eggs and add the oil. Blend everything together with the pizza mix. Cover with wax paper and let sit for 20 minutes.

While the dough was sitting I diced up fresh onion and green pepper and fried some bacon because everything is better with bacon.

The pizza crust goes in the oven to back for 7-9 minutes.

I used a can of Muir Glen Organic Pizza Sauce mainly it was right across the aisle from the crust mix and on sale for $1.19.  I wasn’t sure how much to use so I went with a whole 15 ounce can and that spread out pretty good.

Then I added some gluten free turkey pepperoni, crumbled bacon, salad shrimp, and the peppers and onions. I layered in some mozzarella cheese and topped with a few more bacon crumbs.

Now it’s back in the oven for 15-18 minutes, baked at 425 degrees.

 

730574_10151371334839938_2137041520_n

 

My pizza turned out really good. Next time I will not use as much sauce. Add a little more cheese and maybe some garlic and I think I’ll have a winner of a gluten free gourmet pizza.

The success of this project has done wonders for my confidence in baking. I think next weekend I might try gluten free biscuits. This is really going to help me cope with my Celiac Disease.

Leave a Reply

