Hormone Horrors

hormone

Yesterday I spilled my guts and admitted I have a weight problem. Today I am going to share what I plan to do to reclaim my health. I am currently listening to Sara Gottfried’s The Hormone Cure on OverDrive. I also ordered The Hormone Reset Diet from Amazon and plan of following that 21 day program.

There is a free test that you can take on the book’s website to start out with accessing your hormone imbalances. Go on and take the test and then come back and we’ll share results.

Here is what I got:

High Cortisol. There’s a good chance you are high in cortisol. Cortisol is the hormone that tells your body how to react in times of stress–high levels can lead to accelerated aging and cause too much breakdown of cells and tissues. High cortisol can also make you feel “tired but wired” and cause sleep difficulties, such as difficulty falling asleep or disrupted sleep. Because it causes your body to store fuel, as fat, in places it can be used easily–such as your waist–it can cause a thickened waistline, more colloquially known as the dreaded “muffintop.” You might also experience memory lapses or feel distracted, especially under duress, and experience skin conditions such as eczema. Other effects can include anxiety or nervousness, quickness to anger, sugar cravings, and high blood sugar and/or blood sugar instability.

What to do. I recommend asking your doctor for a morning cortisol test. If your doctor is unwilling, go to http://www.canaryclub.org/ and order the diurnal cortisol, which gives you cortisol levels at four times during the day.

Low Thyroid. There’s a good chance you are low in thyroid hormone. Low thyroid can cause decreased mental acuity, fatigue, and constipation. Long-term low levels are associated with delayed reflexes and a greater risk of Alzheimer’s disease. With low thyroid, your metabolism slows, which means your weight may climb–even if you eat less and exercise more. You may have low sex drive and depression or moodiness.

What to do. I recommend asking your doctor for a test. Get your blood levels tested for TSH, Free T4, and Free T3 — and keep your TSH between 0.3 and 2.5. Consider checking your anti-thyroid antibodies too – and go off gluten if your antibodies are elevated. I recommend you start a high potency multivitamin containing copper, zinc, and selenium. Cook with organic, extra virgin coconut oil.

My estrogen and progesterone levels are pretty stable since I have been on medication since October. I have noticed a huge difference in hot flashes, sleep problems, irritability, and mood swings since the meds have kicked in. Yes, I am also on thyroid medication, but haven’t yet seemed to find the correct dosage. According to my last lab work my TSH was 0.11 and my T4 free is 1.2 and T3 total is 144. Both the T4 and T3 indicate my medication is on track. My glucose is just a couple of points from being too high and my liver function tests are almost always borderline.

What I already do:

As soon as I wake up I take my thyroid medication and drink a bottle of room temperature water while driving to work.

I take a multi-vitamin every morning when I first get to work. I really like Garden of Life Kind Organtics Women’s Multi 40+ because it is certified as being gluten free and vegan.

At lunch time I take Nature’s Bounty Hair, Skin & Nails mainly for the Biotin and Hyaluronic Acid. This has helped with my liver function. I also take an additional Vitamin D3 2,000 I.U. to keep my levels up.

Before I go to bed I take my prescription estrogen and progesterone.

What I plan to add:

I am going to start taking a couple more supplements to work on the cortisol issue. I have ordered
NOW Foods Rhodiola Rhodiola Rosea, 60 Capsules / 500mg and Source Naturals Phosphatidyl Choline 420mg, 90 Softgels. I am not sure when I’ll be taking them during the day as I still need to do a little more research.

For breakfast I plan on having Garden of Life Raw Fit Protein Powder, Chocolate, 450 Gram probably mixed with either soy or almond milk.

For snack I will have a Bai5 anti-oxidant drink. (I already to this most of the time.)

My lunch will be an apple and maybe a Live G-free bar. (I am still checking on the best carb solution.)

On the way home from work I will be mixing Purely Inspired Appiless Appetite Control berry fusion with a bottle of water. Note: it is cheaper at Sams Club than on Amazon.

Dinner will be a low carb gluten free and vegan meal.

I plan on drinking at least 5 bottles of water a day to stay properly hydrated.

As far as exercise goes I plan on doing yoga Monday-Wednesday-Friday and a Kettle Ball routine on Tuesday-Thursday. Remember, I am a certified trainer so I know my way around a weight room. On Saturday and Sunday I plan on adding an extra long walk with my dog. We already get a mile about every morning (at least on the weekends) and every afternoon (rain or shine or bitter cold or intense heat) and a shorter bedtime walk. My dog has issues about pooping in his fenced in backyard, so at least it helps my cardio.

The big thing for me will be controlling my emotional eating, no alcohol, and upping my protein and lowering the carbs while eating plenty of veggies.

I have also (gasp) ordered a digital scale and body fat meter. I’m not a big believer in weighing myself, but that is going to be a motivational tool for me. I have to step on the scales before choosing to eat bad.

So, there you have it… Stayed tuned to see how I do with this…

Leave a Reply

