Wimbledon: The Championships

It’s the most wonderful time of the year… Wimbledon, and to get in the mood I thought I’d share my favorite Wimbledon matches over the years.

1.  Without a doubt is the second live Breakfast At Wimbledon from 1980 – Bjorn Borg defeated John McEnroe in five epic sets: 1-6 7-5 6-3 6-7 (16-18 tiebreaker) 8-6.

bjorn-borg-john-mcenroe-wimbledon1

Back in the days of bootylicious short shorts and wooden racquets I was 13 years old and madly in love with Bjorn Borg. I still vividly remember watching this match. I burned a pizza in the oven during the 20 some minute tie breaker where Borg had seven chances to win the match. The fifth set was amazing. Borg cranked up his serve and only lost six of thirty-one points on serve. He charged the net and played brilliant composed tennis. Check out a New York Times article on the match.

2.  Goran Ivanisevic defeated Patrick Rafter in a rain delayed Monday final in 2001 – 6-3 3-6 6-3 2-6 9-7.

Goran was also one of my all time favorite players and was a wild card entry that year. This final wasn’t shown live and I remember running downstairs on changeovers to check the live score on dial up internet. I was so happy when Goran finally won his only Wimbledon title.

3.  Rafa Nadal defeated Roger Federer – 6-4 6-7 6-7 6-4 9-7 in a four hour forty-minute final in 2008.

Thanks to a rain delay (no roof back then) I had to go to work at Dell during the final set. My niece was texting me the score updates as I followed along on the internet. There were a lot of Vamos Rafa’s that day!

4.  Roger Federer defeated Andy Roddick – 5-7 7-6 7-6 3-6 16-14 in 2009.

The was an emotional roller coaster of a match. Federer served 50 aces. Andy Roddick played the match of his life in the end and still lost. Here is an ESPN account of the match.

5.  2001 4th Round – Roger Federer beats Pete Sampras – 7-6, 5-7, 6-4, 6-7, 7-5.

This was Federer’s break thru match and the first time I’d watched him live. I remember thinking that Federer kid is going to be good some day. I believe his 17 Grand Slams have proved me right.

Honorable Mention – Roger Federer destroys Andy Murray 4-6 7-5 6-3 6-4 in the 2012 finals.

I didn’t watch most of this match live because I HATE Murray and turn off the TV when he is playing. I did watch several replays of the match because I totally enjoyed watching Roger make old Snaggle Tooth cry.

Leave a Reply

